top of page
  • Ariel Campos

Spring Break of 2022

Updated: May 22, 2023

It is March which means spring is literally right around the corner and you can already feel it. The sun is out and the flowers are blooming. This all means spring break is coming up very soon and with some COVID-19 restrictions lifting, there is much more to do compared to the last two years. I had the pleasure of interviewing a few students in the Honors program about their plans for this spring break and how the spring semester has treated them so far.

I spoke with Larenne Bennett, a Linguistics major, and she said “this semester has been pretty hectic. Some days it’s a little easy and then the next week I get piled with assignments.” It is not her first semester taking in-person classes since COVID-19 and she feels like this semester has been better than the rest. She gets to see her friends on campus and is more motivated. I asked Larenne if she is in need of a break and she shared “I’m literally counting the days. I’m looking forward to just have my own time again and to not worry about school for a week.” As an Honors student, I understand that and know most can relate. Like most students, Larenne plans to spend time with her loved ones during the break. She also hopes to practice Spanish and Japanese and cook in her free time.


Another Honors student I got to interview was Thomas Mendoza who is a History major and like Larenne, it is his second semester on campus. He is enjoying the semester so far because he gets to socialize with others in class and join clubs. Surprisingly, Thomas isn’t dying for a break like most students, he said “a break sounds fine but honestly, I'm okay without one. I'm not local, I live in the High Desert. So a break, for me, means leaving Long Beach and going back home. It's bittersweet cause I love hanging with my family but, man, Long Beach is wonderful.” There is so much culture in the city and a lot to do. Although he does not necessarily want to go back home, Thomas is excited to see his hometown friends, girlfriend, and family. Because spring break is a time to relax, he says he plans to procrastinate on his homework during the break.


Savanna Hernandez is a Pre-Social Work major and like me, it is her first time taking classes on campus. She shared that this semester has been rocky for her so she is excited for the break. “During the break, I am planning to connect with friends because this semester I have definitely been knee-deep in studying. I will probably hit the beach and go hiking,” Savanna said. Many students need time away from studying.

The last student I had the pleasure of speaking with was April Love Estrada. She is a Speech Pathology major and it is her first semester with all in-person classes and first time on campus overall. April Love thinks “all of us college students need a break from the stresses of classes as well as extracurriculars,” and is extremely excited for spring break. Her main goal is to relax and catch up with friends and bike at the beach.


When asked “what recommendations do you have for other students for spring break?” the general consensus was to relax, spend time with loved ones, and focus on self-care. Larenne recommended getting back into old hobbies that school can distract us from and to travel. Savanna suggested “going to the Griffith Observatory, it’s really pretty there at night.” April Love highlighted the importance of relaxing your body and mind so she suggests meditating and exercising. With midterms and all, Honors students are extremely stressed right now so spring break should be a time to recover and take care of ourselves because, as Thomas says, “everyone needs a break.”






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page